NOVEMBER 24, 2021

11:30 AM

Lunch (In-Person Only)

12:45 PM

Welcome and Introductory Remarks

  • Mike Marsh, Chair, CEA Board of Directors and President and CEO of SaskPower
12:50 PM


  • Dr. Michael Webber, Chief Science and Technology Officer, Engie and Professor of Mechanical Engineering at University of Texas
1:50 PM

Panel Discussion # 1 - The 2030 Prosumer

The Canadian customer is changing the way utilities operate. From making decisions behind the meter including electric vehicle infrastructure and demand response, self-generation, and energy storage, it is evident consumers want to be more involved in their energy use. This panel will bring together industry experts who will discuss the changing preferences of the next generation and how companies are responding. The panelists will also consider consumer affordability as businesses look to decarbonize and achieve net zero by 2050.

Sponsored by MNP LLP


  • Ms. Julie Lupinacci, Chief Customer Officer, Hydro Ottawa
  • Mr. Jason McGrade, Deputy Director, Smart Energy Consumer Collaborative
  • Ms. Helen Watts, Senior Director of Global Partnerships, Student Energy
  • Mr. Mike Ballard, VP Industry Strategy, Oracle
  • Ms. Andrea Nuesser, Director of Customer Strategy, Hydro One
2:55 PM


3:15 PM

Panel Discussion # 2 - The 2030 Electricity Company Model for Future Success

Canadian electricity companies will need to reflect on the way businesses operate. This panel will contemplate ideal business models for success in 2030 taking into consideration changing technologies, customer preferences, regulatory models, and political priorities. With electricity companies from coast to coast setting ambitious targets for 2050, this panel will allow CEO’s to first contemplate what the ideal business model is for 2030.


  • Ms. Indy J. Butany-DeSouza, President and CEO, Elexicon Energy Inc.
  • Ms. Melanie Bayley, President, ATCO
  • Ms. Adriana Gliga-Belavic, Partner, Privacy & Data Governance, MNP
4:20 PM


  • Susannah Pierce, President and Canada Country Chair, Shell Canada
5:00 PM

Closing Remarks

  • Mike Marsh, Chair, CEA Board of Directors and President and CEO of SaskPower
6:00 PM

Welcome and Seating

Sponsored by Oracle

Guests are invited to join CEA staff and the Board of Directors at a formal dinner where they will enjoy speeches and an awards presentation.

6:15 PM

Electricity Vehicle Award Winners

Sponsored by Guidehouse

  • Cara Clairman, Executive Director, Plug’n Drive
6:30 PM

Sustainable Electricity Designation Award Winner

Sponsored by Hitachi ABB

  • Michael Powell, Vice President of Government Relations, CEA
7:30 PM

The Debaters Live on Tour

CEA is excited to welcome The Debaters as our dinner entertainment.
Hosted by award winning comedian and CBC Host Steve Patterson, this special live event features Steve and two talented comedians performing stand-up and a specially crafted debates for the CEA audience. Two comics will go toe to toe in a battle of laughs and logic and the audience
will pick the winner.